Tuesday Morning Reading!

Morning! I came across another cool article today and I’m getting the feeling that this Tuesday Morning Reading thing is going to become a habit. What do you guys think? (My last post can be found here!)

As like last week’s post, the article I came across today is from Fortune Magazine online. It’s the most recent addition in their Brainstorm Tech Spotlight series, featuring Dave Goldberg. For those of you who don’t know who he is, he’s the founder and CEO of SurveyMonkey, the online survey taking platform. (If you haven’t ever used SurveyMonkey and you do alot of surveys, definitely check it out. It works like a charm.) Dave’s also married to Sheryl Sandberg, the author of the widely talked about Lean Inwhich I happen to be in the middle of reading.

dave_goldberg_surveymonkey

The part of the article that I loved the most this week was the advice they would give. For Dave, he says that its important to remember that “Patience in everything. Run the marathon, not a sprint in life and work.” Good idea to keep in your head, especially when most things today are so focused on being rushed and getting everything done as quick as possible. Take the time to slow down and look at what you are doing. 

I also found it funny that he wishes he had founded Facebook, when asked which start-up he wished he had created. Given that his wife is so high up in the Facebook management system, it’s rather ironic. Also, Facebook is no longer doing as well as it has in the past. Since it’s gone public and the ads have essentially taken over the site, it’s no longer regarded as great as it once was. That’s just my personal opinion though.

I hope you like this article! Let me know what you think about it. I’d love to have conversations about the content! Also, do you think I should make this Tuesday Morning Reading a weekly thing? I’ll try to find articles from other sources as well. Give it more variety. 

Enjoy your Tuesday!

*Image credit given to the article website online!

Leave a Reply

