Let the internships begin!

So of course… I started this blog thinking that I was going to post all the time and be really active about it and what happens? I start it and basically forget about it. Definition of my blogging experience thus far with all of my random blogs that I do have (and very rarely update). I’m going to try to do better!

Today was essentially my first day in the real world! Sort of. I started one of my two internships this summer today and it went great in my mind. I’m a marketing/social media intern for Hidden Baby, a socially aware fashion brand. They sell some great accessories, from bags to shoes to bracelets and scarves! They also run a blog, focusing on NYC female entrepreneurs, food, photography, basically anything they find cool. Check out the blog here: http://hiddenbaby.com/blogs/baby-blog (their most recent blog post is one about me! Go look!)

My day started off with me commuting into the city, which is about an hour for me. I’ve never gone in alone during rush out so navigating the PATH was a shock, but I’ll get used to it. I felt like a really professional going in all dressed up and fighting with the hustle and bustle of the city.

During the day, I mainly focused on expanding their social media presence in the blogging, twitter, and instagram community by making comments and holding conversations with other similar brands and people. It was really fun and I can tell I’m going to learn a lot from these great girls, all while having fun doing it. Who wouldn’t want to spend their summer in Soho, getting to meet great people and making a difference?

My second internship, a finance internship at a derivative exchange company in NJ starts on Monday. I know that one is going to be a totally different atmosphere from the one today, but I think it will be good. I’ll be getting a lot of exposure to the finance world and from the time I have spoken with the heads of the company, they seem to be really cool and are looking forward to teaching me as much as possible. I’ll update you on that once it starts!

Now, the only thing that would make this all better is if the weather would start acting like summertime, instead of early spring. There’s no way I should be wearing jeans in the middle of May. Bring on the heat, the beach, pool, and warm nights!

Leave a Reply

